Alone

More new material! Shot Saturday night, developed Sunday afternoon, printed and scanned Saturday night. This is my first attempt at push processing, and the results aren’t pretty, though i think the image is interesting. The negatives are probably better than this. Unfortunately, this is a scan from perhaps the worst CVS print I’ve ever seen (which is saying a lot). I imagine they do fine as long as you don’t ask their computer algorithm to interpret sometihng like a two-stop push- oh wait, is that dust all over the scan (and more that I cloned out)?

All ranting aside, I’m pretty pleased to have gotten an image at all considering this was my first push process and I literally made up the development time. Hopefully I’ll be dealing with a better scan soon, and perhaps an updated version will even make it here. For now, let freshness triumph over polished results.

After looking deep into my conscience, this picture is better with the full story. I was out taking pictures at around 12:30 (AM) when I saw a police officer lumbering down the sidewalk all by himself. An awkward kind of man doing an awkward kind of job in a drinking town, he seemed like an interesting subject, or at the very least someone whose antics might amuse me. Assured in the safety of my sobriety, I followed him for a ways, shooting him against various backdrops. I felt rather guilty, but I put it behind me and kept shooting. I was following when he turned up the stairs you see to his left, which brought me into his field of view. I had anticipated this and didn’t want to be caught with my camera pointed at him (since civil servants and emergency responders tend to consider themselves above being photographed, although they are absolutely not in the United States), and ducked into an alley to my left. As I disappeared into the shadows, I saw him turn and step in my direction, and then I realized it: There’s only one thing people do in dark alleys at 12:30 AM in drinking towns, and the police tend not to take kindly to it.

Shockingly, this defender of the peace not only failed to comprehend “low light street photography” and “two-stop push,” but even after I related the basics of these elusive concepts to him proceeded to lecture me from his infinite photography wisdom: “It’s been my experience,” he said condescendingly, “That when there’s no light the camera tends not to see anything.” I immediately thought of at least eleven witty retorts about the camera never “seeing” anything or the “complicated chemical process” employed by the dinosaurs that predate digital photography, but I instead proffered some explanation of my experimentation with extremely low levels of light with chemical manipulation. “Make sure you’re not peeing” he quipped smigly before turning away. It was at that moment that I, with no remorse whatsoever, captured his awkwardness forever using a complicated chemical process in a box that saw nothing.

Agfapan APX 400 shot at 1600 and push-processed in 1+19 F76+ for a more or less arbitrary amount of time. Mildly corrected scan of a horrendous print.

1 Comment

Filed under Black and White, Self-Developed, Street Photography

One response to “Alone

  1. Street Photographer

    A great shot under difficult circumstances. And you were lucky to have a relatively understanding policeman as your subject; last weekend I took a photograp[h of some police officers at work. One of them approached me and demanded that I delete the photograph or he would seize my camera. I pointed out that what I was doing was perfectly legal, which he refuted, and threatened again to seize my camera. He spent a few minutes trying to bully me into deleting the picture, then warned me that it was illegal to send the picture to any media agency (which it’s not), took my name, and warned me that if the picture ever showed up he would find me and take my camera away.

    I’ve sent it to my local newspaper, of course!

Leave a Reply

