Gray-Blues

As I continue to wallow through the mess of bad and incomplete scans, a few pop up that catch my eye. By “a few” I mean that this is the second. (Not) coincidentally, they are all from the non-pushed roll (go figure), and they also have all required heavy spot fixes. At least they stopped trying to tell me it’s dust on my negatives. The conversation went something like this:

“What kind of camera are these from?”

“A 35mm camera. What do you mean?”

“Well who developed them?”

“I did. In my sink.”

“Do they say. . . Are they C-41?”

“No. They’re black and white.”

“But was the process C-41?”

“No. It’s black and white. I did it in my sink.”

“Oh. I don’t think our scanner will recognize those.”

“Why not? They’re exposed correctly.”

“Well, it only ‘sees’ C-41 negatives. But I’ll try it.”

The really absurd part is that he was right. For whatever reason, commercial get-it-good-enough-for-Average-Joe’s-vacation-pictures scanners get freaked out true black and white negatives, and respond by dropping all varieties of dust- and hair-like spots onto the image files. Which get painstakingly fixed by me.

Agfa APX 400 rated at 400 (noticing a pattern for the ones that work?), drug store “barrel o’monkeys” scan technology. Much spot fixing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Black and White, Film, Self-Developed

Leave a Reply

