The Chair

Sometimes ignorance is excusable. Sometimes it isn’t. When you bring someone a page of strips of negatives you just painstakingly made in your kitchen sink and they grab them with their dirty fingers to pull them out and jam them into the scanner, it’s just heartbreaking.

Ummm, you know you can’t touch those negatives, right? You have to hold them by the edges.

Oh, uh, really?

Yeah. You might have just ruined all of those. You have to hold them by the edges.

Oh, uh, I’m sorry. I guess I should wear the gloves then?

Yes. Yes, please wear the gloves. Please.

I saw this in the library and though the light was interesting. Interestingly enough, this one scanned especially poorly. It still has the low grain smooth look that is the signature of T-Max, it just had no blacks. Not sure why that’s happening, but it’s easy enough to fix.

It’s interesting how in photography one goes from looking for interesting events to looking for interesting frames to looking ofr interesting light. I wonder where I’ll go next.

100TMX, F76+. I still hate CVS.

2 Comments

Filed under Black and White, Film, Self-Developed

2 responses to “The Chair

  1. Lovely shot, and very good eye on spotting it
    [quote]It’s interesting how in photography one goes from looking for interesting events to looking for interesting frames to looking ofr interesting light. I wonder where I’ll go next.[/quote]

    I too was thinking about this the other day when my woman was asking me why I went outside to take pictures at 1am, my response, “Dear have you seen the moon tonight, the lighting is awesome”.

  2. chloé

    i like this shot & your quote & agree with above comment 🙂
    some people just don’t get it; i went from being annoyed that it was raining, to ventureing out after the rain & taking photographys of the rain droplets, it’s (photography) really opened up my eyes to a new & excitingly beautiful world

Leave a Reply

