Attitude

Photography is personal.

Good photographs distill the essence of something into an instant. Be it a person, an animal, a car, or a building, the photographs that stick in the memory tell us something about the subject rather than just being a still image of it.

I think this image perfectly captures the attitude of the subject. I guess, to be fair, it’s tough to know whether I’m fairly representing her or not, but I think I’m pretty credible. I am, after all, on the Internet.

Agfa APX 400, Clayton F76+, one of my first self-developed rolls.

5 Comments

Filed under Black and White, Film, Portrait, Self-Developed

5 responses to “Attitude

  1. chloe

    i like her *do you have too* face 🙂
    beautiful! is she yours?

  2. It's How I See It

    I like this image. I like the grainy, almost old, feel. The one ear cocked back does seem to express a level of annoyance.

  3. I wish.

    I do get the privilege of taking care of her from time to time, however. She is full of attitude and a lot of fun to have around.

    The grainy “old” feel is a result of fast black and white film, by-hand small tank development, and cropping from a small (and poorly done) scan. It’s a unique workflow to say the least, but I as well really like the results sometimes. It has a feel all its own in (to?) my eyes.

  4. Ali

    LILY!!!!! I NEED a copy of this one. Why aren’t there any of Mr. Sammy on here?? Why is my dog so hated?!

  5. Ali

    PS has Auntie Cindy seen this picture? I am sure she would want a copy as well.

    PPS I love how this picture soooo captures her little attitude

Leave a Reply

