Slam


Photography is complicated.

Tonight: Action shooting with on-camera hotshoe flash (my only option for various reasons). To capture the shot I had in my mind (which I didn’t), I needed to consider perspective, how that perspective is altered or distorted by focal length and proximity to the subject, how to get correct exposure using a non-compatible TTL flash, how to get correct focus, and how not to get landed on. I succeeded in precisely two of these areas.

The moral of the story is, every time you think it’s down to a reflex, there’s one more thing you aren’t thinking of. Especially if you’re me. And especially if it’s dark out.

Pentax digital, some sort of Nikon-intended Quantaray strobe that isn’t worth the effort it took to acquire for free.

Leave a comment

Filed under Black and White, Digital, Street Photography

Leave a Reply

