Fear/Update Part II

truck

I was looking through old scans and forgot about this one.

I’m pretty sure I know who this truck belongs to, and this picture of this truck seems a fair reflection of his personality.

FYI- YASHICA CAMERA” arrived today, and was a miserable disappointment. The film advance isn’t really connected to anything, the mirror is stuck up, and the shutter won’t cock. These problems are probably all related, but the point is that the camera is definitely not usable. After all of that waiting and frustration, it is utterly worthless. Now begins the delicate eBay refund tapdance. Though my dealings with the seller so far aren’t exactly confidence-inspiring, I hope this one isn’t too painful. Moral of the story: Don’t be stupid like me- learn your lessons.

I loaded up my students’ cameras with Tri-X tonight, and they’re off into the world of hybrid black-and-white photography. Most have never handled a 35mm camera before, and none has used a manual camera before. One pair is using a KR-10 from my personal stash (actually, it’s borrowed) in place of the disappointing Yashica. I forgot that it has a light leak, so I’ll have to track them down tomorrow with some electrical tape.

It’s strange trying to explain exposure and film and metering to people who have never tried it before. It’s easy to forget how foreign these things feel at first, especially to those of us hailing from the digital age. There’s a difference between explaining and teaching, and I’m hoping this week of playing with the cameras will help take me from the first to the second. Only time will tell.

Probably my KR-5 Super II loaded with Plus-X. I should write these things down.

3 Comments

Filed under Black and White, Film, Self-Developed, Street Photography

3 responses to “Fear/Update Part II

  1. severnyproductions

    Yes the way it looms in front of you like a giant. Nice image

  2. chloe

    good luck with your teaching, i’m sure you’ll be great

    i’m happy to say; i’m happy to stay hailing from the digital age 😉

    nice photography btw

  3. c

    Hey you,

    I love this shot… and what I think you’re insinuating… I don’t know the person, but it’s a nice metaphor for Americans in general.

Leave a Reply

