Anomalous

doflowers

Does this count as “something different,” or is it still a photocliché?

One of the first things I shot with my 50mm f/1.8 was this collection of daffodils. Shot at f/1.8 and very close range, the depth of  field is almost nonexistent. While this is certainly a cliché, I tried to process it a little differently. Does it work?

My students developed their first rolls this week, with some success. Unfortunately, one of our cameras has serious meter problems and another has light leaks. This process has been a constant reminder of both how difficult and rewarding getting a working vintage setup can be.

Nikon D200, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8.

4 Comments

Filed under Digital, Landscape, Photo-philosophy

4 responses to “Anomalous

  1. chloe

    well, yes, at least it runs 🙂 that’s the main thing
    thankyou, that flower’s center reminds me on sprinkles lol that’s why i chose it
    yeah i noticed you weren’t getting involved
    i’m looking forward to this weeks challenge too, just waiting on my micro to get here; should be here tomorrow (wednesday) yay

    this is feminie, soft & gentle i really like
    i want a lens with f/1.8 lol 🙂

  2. Dude! Wazzup?
    True about the DoF. But I didnt get the ‘Students’? Am I missing something in here!!

  3. Yeah, I didn’t know you were a teacher. Very cool.

  4. Teresa Shestak

    I love the depth of the flowers and the textures are very pronounced with the black and white film. Plus I was in your class so I had to pick this picture as my favorite!

Leave a Reply

