A-Treat

Another from my Provia roll this weekend. When I first ran these negatives through the scanner (I always check the “develop only” box now that I have a negative scanner, and Ritz still charges $4.50), I was disappointed. They had the graininess and sharpness that I like from my cross processed rolls, but the color shifts were minimal and the dynamic range was impossibly thin. I bracketed each shot, and in many cases one was underexposed and one had blown highlights all over. Is Provia a bad film for cross processing? A quick Flickr search suggested that this is definitely not the case.

So why did my film look funny? Turns out the automatic exposure software in my scanner doesn’t handle weird negatives very well (specifically the white point setting). Once I went back and set it manually, I got some very interesting results. Here’s one in color:

a-treat

Minolta XD5, probably an old MC 50mm f/1.8 (it could have been the 28mm, and I really should be able to tell), Fuji Provia 400F expired September 2004 and cross processed at Ritz.

2 Comments

Filed under Color, Film, Street Photography

2 responses to “A-Treat

  1. Its good to be back home! 😀 I can see that!
    I was on holidays for the last 2 months! I really had a blast, Went to India, almost covered north India. it was great adventure & fun! Took gigs of photos! if you can go through my blog, you can see some earlier posts, with Tajmahal and himalayas in them! Do check them out! Today I posted a new one on slum life from mumbai! 😀
    Looking forward to your beach shots!

  2. chloe

    i like the gradient feel to the sky, very nicely done

    p.s don’t know if you got my email response to your last comment but i said thankyou for your support anthony xo

Leave a Reply

