Stele/Sepulchral

At least that’s how it looks to me.

I went out shooting with another photographer friend tonight, and we had plans to work our way into a freight yard to get some pictures of abandoned, decaying, or otherwise interesting trains and their accessories. Unfortunately, security was tight, so we found what appeared to be an abandoned quarry of some sort across the street. Fading light is always my favorite, but it’s a serious technical challenge for a photographer using a camera body that is mostly useless above ISO 640 and who left all three of his tripods in his apartment. The 35mm f/1.8’s huge maximum aperture was really the only thing I had going for me, but I did get a few shots I like that were free of motion blur. More from this shoot will be coming.

While I do love shooting with fast primes, I missed having a wide angle tonight. Perhaps an ultrawide is in my future?

Nikon D200, DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 G wide open (not too soft, eh?).

2 Comments

Filed under Abstract, Digital

2 responses to “Stele/Sepulchral

  1. chloe

    i like your sense of adventure!

    🙂 lovely composed photo

  2. elise taft

    So clearly this is natural light. Damn, you’re good!

Leave a Reply

