Sonny Wortzik

Another from the “abandoned quarry,” which is apparently not at all abandoned.

Films aren’t “filmed,” they’re “photographed.” Early filmmakers drew heavily from the work of early photographers (particularly in the area of very careful composition, as any of the Lumiere brothers’ films will show you). I think some of my work is heavily infuenced by my favorite American films of the 1970s (Taxi Driver, The Warriors), particularly in their warm color tones and their persistent examination of the aesthetic decay of the American metropolis (typically, and in both of those cases, New York). When I watch a good film, I find myself constantly noticing things I could try to recreate or reinterpret in a photograph (and my criteria for what makes a “good” film have a lot to do with its aesthetic merits). To me, this instantly recalls the supersaturated tones and visual metaphor of Rear Window, though that film is neither urban nor from the 1970s.

Nikon D200, Nikkor 35mm f/1.8.

2 Comments

Filed under Abstract, Digital

2 responses to “Sonny Wortzik

  1. chloe

    i really like the whole adandoned errie feel to this
    very cool ..i’d be spooked to do these photos

  2. This is more like it! I missed you.

Leave a comment